Here’s The Full List Of This Year’s Groove Awards Nominees

This year’s Groove Awards will be one with a great new difference as more entries have been created and other categories revamped.

This thirteenth edition saw the public being included in the nomination process that brought fourth 19 categories with surprise new entries into some of the most tightly contested spots.

The nominees were unveiled yester-night at an exclusive red carpet event held at the Mövenpick Hotel Westlands and truth be told gospel singer Jabidii walked away one happy man after landing an impressive 7 nominations including Song of the Year and Teens Choice Song of the Year (in which he received 2 nominations) Breakthrough Artist of the year, Collabo of the year and Dance style/song of the Year in which he also received 2 nominations.

Gloria Muliro followed closely with 6 nominations in Artist of the Year, Song of the Year, twice under the Praise and Worship song of the Year, Collabo of the Year and Western Counties song of the Year categories. 

This year Male artist, Female artists and Group of the year categories have been revamped and collapsed into one category- Artist of the Year becoming the most coveted award of the season. The contenders in this category include the reigning Female and Male artists of the year – Mercy Masika- who received 3 and Eko Dydda 2 nominations respectively. Other nominees in the Artist of the Year category are Guardian Angel, Moji Short Babaa, Gloria Muliro and hip-hop group Recapp. 

Public voting will begin at 10am on Friday 8th June 2018 and will run until midnight 23rd June 2018. Fans will be able to vote via sms by sending the word Groove followed by the nominee code to 811 or by dialing *811# and following the prompts, or via the website

This year’s winners will be announced on 24th June 2018 at the Gala Awards ceremony, to be held in Kasarani Nairobi.

The nominees are as follows:

Groove Awards Nominees List(1)





12th Annual Groove Awards With Safaricom Nominees Revealed

The 12th Annual Groove Awards with Safaricom on Tuesday evening unveiled this year’s nominees at a high profile red carpet event held at The Chandaria Center Auditorium, University of Nairobi Towers.

The event, which marked over a decade of historic achievements in the gospel music industry, saw 156 nominees revealed in 26 categories, with a line-up that featured both established and upcoming artists.

Leading the nominations with six nods are Recapp, who have been nominated in the Group of the Year, Hip Hop Song of the Year, Album of the Year and Video of the Year categories.

This year’s contenders for Male Artist of The Year include Daddy Owen, Eko Dydda, Guardian Angel, Kris Eeh Baba, Pastor Anthony Musembi and Pitson, while Alice Kimanzi, Evelyn Wanjiru, Kambua, Princess Farida, Size 8 and last year’s winner Mercy Masika will battle it out for Female Artist of The Year.

Also featuring prominently in the list of nominees are Kelele Takatifu and Kambua, who have been nominated in four categories each. While many categories see the return of last year’s contenders, this year’s New Artist/New Group Of The Year category features a fresh line-up, which includes: Ben C, Dar Mjomba, Sharon, Slejj, Stonee Jiwe and Weezdom.

The unveiling of the nominees follows an intensive one-month exercise that involved the participation of 130 Groove Academy members and a seasoned panel of judges representing the various industry stakeholders.

Groove Awards with Safaricom is the only property of its kind in Kenya, and enjoys local, regional and international recognition. The awards are a celebration of the Gospel music industry’s talent and progress, and provide an opportunity for the public to celebrate their favourite artists. 

A full list of nominees is available on Public voting is now open and will run to midnight, 31st May 2017. Fans can vote by dialing *811# and following the prompts, or via the Groove Awards website.

Nominated artists will perform during the Groove Tours set to begin on 14th May, during which they will get to meet fans in different parts of the country including Machakos, Eldoret and Karatina. These tours will provide an opportunity for the artists to drum up support in a bid to win in their respective categories before the Groove Awards Gala event, which is scheduled for 1st June 2017 at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre. The Tours will thereafter resume and visit Meru and Kakamega.