• Posted by:Eric Njiru




  • Ronaldo, Bolt Up For Laureus Awards

World player of the year Cristiano Ronaldo will go head to head with Olympic gold medalist Usain bolt in the Laureus World award on Tuesday in Monaco.

The sportsman of the year award will be a tight contest as Olympics 5,000m and 10,000m race champion Mo Farah, tennis great Andy Murray, basketball duo of Stephen Curry and LeBron James, are also up for the prestigious award. 


The nominations for the World Sportswoman of the Year award are filled by all six Olympians that include USA gymnast Simone Biles, Katie Ledecky and Allyson Felix, German world tennis number one Angelique Kerber, Jamaican sprint star Elaine Thompson and British cyclist Laura Kenny.



Having finished second in 2014 and 2015, Nico Rosberg finally won the Formula One World Championship last year and that has earned him a nomination for the World Breakthrough of the Year Award.

Motorsports: FIA Formula One World Championship 2012, Grand Prix of China,  #8 Nico Rosberg (GER, Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team),  *** Local Caption *** +++ www.hoch-zwei.net +++ copyright: HOCH ZWEI +++

He will be facing some challenge from Olympic world-record breaking runners Almaz Ayana and Wayde van Niekerk, and three teams who performed heroically in 2016: English Premier League Champions Leicester City, European Championship quarter-finalists Iceland and Olympic Rugby Sevens gold medal winners Fiji.


In another category, Mercedes AMG Petronas are nominated for the third straight year for the World Team of the Year Award, along with three football teams — European Champions Portugal, Champions League winners Real Madrid and Neymar-inspired Olympic gold medal winners Brazil.

portugal-euro-2016-winners-shirt-1 brazil-football-gold

American teams Chicago Cubs, winner of their first baseball World Series for 108 years, and NBA Champions Cleveland Cavaliers, led by LeBron James, are also shortlisted.


For the first time in 17 years, fans will be able to fans will be able to cast their votes for a brand new Best Sporting Moment of the Year Award.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedIn

Eric Njiru

Eric is a Multimedia Sports Journalist who has covered local and international Sporting Activities from World Championships, Rugby World Cup, Kenya National Rally, HSBC World Sevens Series, School Competitions and Kenyan Premier League with good knowledge of the industry.

Apart from daily reporting, Eric is a presenter on HBR Fanzone every Saturday from 9am and Sunday 3pm.

Share your thoughts